Robert Sorby – The Kangaroo Arch

Did you know Robert Sorby and Sons were initially set up on Union Street in 1828 and then moved to Carver Street in Sheffield in 1837?

In 1923, we moved a short distance to the site at the corner of Trafalgar and Wellington Streets, where The Kangaroo Works became home to Robert Sorby and Sons Ltd.

The famous Kangaroo Arch was saved when Robert Sorby relocated from Trafalgar Street to Chesterfield Road in 1934, and can still be seen at Kelham Island Industrial Museum as pictured here. The arch was carefully taken down, piece by piece and built on the exterior of the museum.

Kelham Island Museum is located on one of the oldest industrial sites in Sheffield. Explore the story of making in the city, from master craftsmen to mass production. Experience life and work during the Industrial Revolution, follow the sights and sounds of progress through the Victorian era, celebrate the Women of Steel and see how industry forged the modern city.

For more information on Sheffield Museums and Kelham Island Industrial Museum, visit